Distinguished Law Fellowships provide world-class opportunities


The Distinguished Law Fellowship program continues to give some of the School of Law’s brightest students world-class and unparalleled offerings as they pursue their Juris Doctors.

22-23 Distinguished law fellows

Distinguished Law Fellows met with Georgia Supreme Court Justice Andrew Pinson (J.D.’11) during the academic year. Pictured are: (l. to r.) Tripp Vaughn, Cason Smith, Christian Futch, Saya Abney, Logan Berg, Pinson, Ellie Williams, Megan McGoldrick, Anna Gowen, Mike Hines, Caitlyn Watson and Jessica Cooper.

Initially established in 2016 by a gift from The John N. Goddard Foundation, the Distinguished Law Fellowship program has grown to offer more than 25 full-tuition-plus scholarships. In addition to financial aid, students receive an educational experience that may include domestic and international externships, guided research experiences and opportunities to meet some of the country’s top legal, business and government leaders.

Distinguished Law Fellowships are named for the following individuals, funds and foundations:

  • Philip H. Alston, Jr.
  • James E. “Jim” Butler Jr. (J.D.’77)
  • Robert G. Edge
  • Kenneth M. Henson (J.D.’47)
  • Associate Dean & Hosch Professor Emeritus Paul M. Kurtz
  • Edith M. and Frank G. Lumpkin Jr.
  • Aubrey and Marilyn Motz
  • Law School Association Professor Emeritus John B. Rees Jr.
  • Frank Stanton
  • Carter Chair Emeritus R. Perry Sentell Jr. (LL.B.’58)
  • Jane W. Wilson
  • Joel Wooten (J.D.’75)
  • The AnBryce Foundation
  • The International Law Student Development Endowment
  • The Dean & Virginia Rusk Fund
  • The Richard B. Russell Foundation
  • The Veterans Legal Services Clinic Fund


The Distinguished Law Fellowship program is modeled after the university’s prestigious Foundation Fellows initiative, which was established in 1972.