Best return on investment strategy fueled by giving

The School of Law’s ranking as the #1 best value/return on investment in legal education for an historic third year was not an accident. The school’s leadership – guided by our alumni/alumnae boards – purposefully chartered a path to put the school’s students in the best possible position to seek legal employment based on their passions first and pay second. Every year, we are thankful to the graduates and friends who answer the call to take the quality of a UGA legal education to an even higher level.

Gregory A. “Greg” (J.D.’80) and Kay Garcia established the Garcia Scholarship Fund, which will give preference to students who have demonstrated a commitment to matters of diversity, equity and inclusion.

The Michael Louis Goldberg Scholarship Fund, benefiting students who played sports in high school or college, was expanded.

Neal J. (J.D.’87) and Elizabeth W. Quirk documented their planned gift to the law school.

Michael T. “Mike” Rafi (J.D.’11) created a scholarship named for his grandmother Annette McKean.

The Stanton Foundation funded various scholarship/research grants in addition to its support for the First Amendment Clinic, a clinic post-graduate fellow and a Distinguished Law Fellowship.

G. Sanders Griffith III (J.D.’77) and Nancy E. Rafuse (J.D.’91) provided resources for the school’s graduate assistant program. Launched two years ago and modeling similar initiatives in other academic disciplines, this effort matches a student with a professor based on common professional interests and results in work and research experience, while offsetting tuition and other costs for the student.

C. Andrew “Andy” Childers (J.D.’98) supported our students with funding for professional attire, which boosts students’ confidence when interviewing, appearing in court or going to the legal workplace.

Several efforts have been announced this past year memorializing members of our law school community including: Chester C. Davenport (LL.B.’66) with a scholarship/fellowship fund, Judge Horace J. Johnson Jr. (J.D.’82) with a lecture and Rajesh “Raj” Mehta (J.D.’01) with a memorial endowment for family justice initiatives in addition to the conversion of the scholarship named for the late legendary professor R. Perry Sentell Jr. (LL.B.’58) into a Distinguished Law Fellowship. Others that are in process will honor the memories of Randall D. “Randy” Quintrell (J.D.’85) and Judge Steve Goss (J.D.’86).